Fall 2018 Intern Spotlight-Erin

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Lubbock welcomes three university students to intern at our office for the 2018 fall semester. In this series, we’ll introduce you to the talented students that are helping, learning and gaining experience at our office this semester.

Meet Erin!

Where are you originally from, what is your major and what year are you?

I was born in Houston and raised in Lubbock, TX. My major is Communications Studies with a minor in Advertising. I am in my senior year at Texas Tech.

What do you want to be when you grow up?

I aspire to be happy in whatever I do for a living. I am not sure what I want to do, but I know I want to be a happy and successful person.

What is a typical day as an intern at BBBS?

A typical day as a Marketing intern at BBBS begins and ends with coffee. I have my own desk where I get to do all my work, such as assisting Daniel with the event planning and reaching out to our contacts. It is a really laid-back environment and everyone is so kind. A typical day as an intern is truly enjoyable.

How did you hear about this internship opportunity and what steps did you take to get here?

I heard about this internship through an email sent by my advisor. I simply sent in my resume and came in to have my interview. A week later, I received the exciting news that I had a spot here at BBBS.

Why did you choose to intern at BBBS Lubbock?

BBBS of Lubbock has an incredible reputation and I know many people who have dedicated their time here and have loved every second. It was also an incredible opportunity for me in that I get to learn things as I prepare to find my career someday.

What are you hoping to learn while interning at BBBS?

I am hoping to learn what it is like to work in an office environment and how to network with people. It is important to be comfortable in an unfamiliar setting.

What was/is your favorite class in college?

My favorite course so far has been Communicating in a Global Society.

What activities are you involved with at school?

I am a member of the Lambda Pi Eta Honors Society and the Communications Studies Society. I also have a part-time job so I had to give up my amazing Sorority, Chi Omega, but it was a wonder opportunity to meet people.

Do you have a special talent?

Not in particular. I am a well-rounded individual. I danced Ballet, Jazz, Contemporary, Hip-Hop, Lyrical and Pointe growing up.

What is your current favorite TV show?

Big Brother is mine and my family’s guilty pleasure during the summer.

What was the last movie you watched?

I can’t remember. We don’t go out to the movies often.

Drink of choice?

Water or coffee

Favorite quote or expression?

Sadly, I can’t think of any.

Someday I will:

Have a family and a wonderful career

Slightly addicted to:

Herbalife. Two shakes a day.

Dislikes:

Cats

Favorite Place:

The gym

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would it be?

Italy or Ireland

If you could add one snack to the office what would it be?

Cheez its

Team IPhone or Team Android?

Team IPhone

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.